Reflections on Aging Well

Author, Living with Purpose in a Worn-out Body: Spiritual Encouragement for Older Adults (Upper Room) and Columnist, Aging Well, United Methodist Reporter

It’s all backwards February 21, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — missybu @ 7:45 pm

Last week my husband and I went on a cruise. As we were packing the car, I hurried to address Valentines for older adult friends who have lost a spouse. I wanted them to know that they were not forgotten.  As we drove out of the driveway, I tossed the cards in the mailbox and off we went! 

By the time we had returned from our trip, I had totally forgotten about the Valentines… at least until I sorted through our stack of mail. Several of the older adults had sent thank-you cards with long handwritten messages. A couple of them had left heartfelt phone messages, and a few tracked me down at church today just to give me a hug.

Just as it often is in God’s economy, everything was backwards. These frail older adults had gone to so much trouble just to thank me for a red and pink Valentine.  I was the one who was trying to lift their day, and yet… they lifted mine.

 

Leave a Reply

