Reflections on Aging Well

Author, Living with Purpose in a Worn-out Body: Spiritual Encouragement for Older Adults (Upper Room) and Columnist, Aging Well, United Methodist Reporter

Thanksgiving: What older adults are thankful for this year October 11, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — missybu @ 3:33 pm

In preparation for the Thanksgiving season, I asked a group of older adults at a senior care residence to share what they are most thankful for, other than their families.  As November approaches, I hope you will ponder their responses. 

“I was very healthy until the last few years of my life.  I am thankful for that.  But now that my health has deteriorated, I am grateful for medications that help me to be more comfortable.”

“I am thankful for members of my church who visit me like clockwork every week.  A group of them bring the church van and even take me out to lunch sometimes.  Their visits are such a boost.  They will never know how much those visits mean to me.”

“I am thankful for my new friends here at the retirement village.  I came here knowing no one.  It was a scary time for me.  My husband had died.  I had sold my home.  I dreaded moving here, but some of the residents welcomed me as if they had known me forever.  I am so grateful for them.”   

“I am very thankful for large-print books, especially Christian books. Even though my eyesight is poor, I love to read.  The large-print books bring me comfort, especially when I am feeling lonely.”

“Laughter!  I am thankful for people who make me laugh.  On days when I hurt, laughter keeps me going.”

“I’m grateful for a full night of sleep.  It’s rare that I sleep all the way through the night, but when I do, I praise God for it.  I feel like a new man.”

“I am thankful for the colors of each season.”

“I’m grateful for nice neighbors who check on me each morning to see if I’m still alive.”

“I love surprises, so I am thankful when someone brings me an unexpected treat.”

“I am thankful that I have a computer, that I have a lifetime of memories, and that I’ll hopefully have enough money to carry me through to my last breath.”

 

One Response to “Thanksgiving: What older adults are thankful for this year”

  1. […] To read all of the responses, please visit Missy’s blog here: Thanksgiving – What Older Adults Are Thankful For This Year […]


Leave a Reply

