Reflections on Aging Well

Author, Living with Purpose in a Worn-out Body: Spiritual Encouragement for Older Adults (Upper Room) and Columnist, Aging Well, United Methodist Reporter

On the floor to build relationships July 23, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — missybu @ 4:15 pm

Each morning for the past week, I’ve awakened before sunrise at the Colorado resort where our extended family has been vacationing.  I didn’t want to miss seeing my 8-month old grandson the moment my son brought him in to play while breakfast got  underway.    

Usually the pajama-clad little guy would break into a 200-watt smile when he first spied me.  It didn’t matter that he only had two teeth because even his body language said that  he was glad to see me. 

 Because of our past experiences, I think he knew I would happily sit on the floor and read to him. Or I’d improvise silly games with an ice bucket or a toilet paper roll.  Even when he was tired or cranky, I would sing our special made-up song and get him to laugh.    

 Time with my grandson made me think anew about Christ-like relationships.  About what it means to selflessly invest yourself in the life of another.   About how to willingly put aside your personal desires for the well-being of someone else.    

Although technology is a marvelous thing, I know it can never substitute for face-to-face time with a person.  In fact, I think authentic relationship often begins when we just sit on the floor and pay attention.

 

Leave a Reply

